Game-based training

Game-based training has been applied to education for centuries. The earliest examples of game-based training can be traced back to scenario planning games in military strategy during the Middle Ages. Nowadays game-based training has become a successful training solution for soft skills learning. Although game-based training is less frequently applied to train technical content, recent cognitive research has shown that it significantly enhances the retention of the technical content as well as newly acquired knowledge.

Some clues as to why game-based training is so beneficial can be found in most recent cognitive science.

Game-based training and cognitive science

Current cognitive science identifies some key strategies on how to maximize knowledge acquisition and retention.

One key learning is that the most durable training requires effort.

Learning is strenuous and time consuming

But why is that? Why does learning have to be hard and time consuming? Every time you learn something new your brain must change anatomically by creating new neural connections. Your brain stores your learnings, memories and knowledge and each time something new is added it needs to change. This is hard, requires effort and unfortunately does not get easier the older we grow.

Strategies to assimilate knowledge more effectively

Cognitive science however presents us with two key strategies that can support making the learning journey much more effective.
Retrieving your newly acquired knowledge is key to retaining it.

Strategy 1: Retrieving new knowledge

There are three ways that knowledge retrieval can be practiced:

  1. Personal reflection.

Personal reflection on the retrieved knowledge or recalling the knowledge from memory.

  1. Test your knowledge.

Besides measuring your learning performance testing is one of the most successful ways to make you retrieve and retain knowledge.

  1. Repeated retrieval of your knowledge.

Repeated retrieval like repeated personal reflection or testing situations makes your memories more durable.

Strategy 2: Elaborate your new knowledge – build on your associative memory

By transferring newly acquired knowledge in one context enables you to apply that knowledge in a different context. This elaboration helps you truly understand the subject matter and is key to connecting the new teaching to knowledge you already have. There are three ways you can practice elaboration successfully:

There are three ways you can practice elaboration successfully: 

  1. Elaboration in a team or study group

Discussions on the newly acquired knowledge with people in the same training allows you to understand the areas you are not sure about and creates a memory and emotions you can connect the knowledge to.

  1. Practically apply the knowledge to solve a problem

Just try to figure it out, if you make mistakes on the way do not worry as this only improves the effectiveness of learning and retention.

  1. Mix it up.

Mix up what you learn, the more you mix up different content and try to apply it to solve a problem the more successfully the knowledge is retained.

The success of the game-based training application is achieved through incorporating the outlined strategies into the training design. Most effective game-based training methods incorporate all strategies:

Emotions function as catalysts to memorize topics sustainably

Besides incorporating the key learning strategies outlined above, game-based training creates, by its playfulness, creating positive emotions that help the participants to achieve the learning goals more easily. It has been observed that in game-based training settings the participants frequently enter the state of “flow” due to the captivating nature of the training. This allows them to maximize the learning effect during the time allocated to the training while enjoying the experience.

Summary: Maximize your learning effectiveness through game-based training

Well-designed game-based training creates an opportunity to retain knowledge. Key factors for the high knowledge retention are the fun experience and the creation of positive emotions through incorporating successful cognitive science strategies.

If you are interested in learning more about our game-based training methods, please contact us: contact@in-the-box-consulting.ch

 

Christian Dubs, CEO

Christian Dubs, CEO

Christian is a certified chemist and naturally a tinkerer. His strength is to initiate strategic change processes and implement them sustainably. Christian is currently training in advanced analytics, Big Data and digital transformation.

Game-based training

Game-based training has been applied to education for centuries. The earliest examples of game-based training can be traced back to scenario planning games in military strategy during the Middle Ages.

read more »

Game-Based-Training

Game-Based-Training wird seit Jahrhunderten für die Wissensvermittlung angewendet. Die frühesten Beispiele für Game-Based-Training wurden für die Ausarbeitung von Szenarien-Planung in der militärischen Strategieausbildung im Mittelalter angewandt. Eine einfache Definition von Game-Based-Training ist die Wissensvermittlung in der Form eines Spieles. Das Spiel zeichnet sich dabei durch die Anwendung von verschiedenen Szenarien und Herausforderung aus und kreiert dabei eine positive Erfahrung.

Heute ist Game-Based-Training zu einer erfolgreichen Lernlösung für Soft Skills geworden. Obwohl Game-Based-Training äusserst effektiv in der Vermittlung technischer Inhalte ist, wird es selten dafür verwendet. Besonders die erhöhte Retention des vermittelten Wissens ist ein Kernmerkmal von Game-Based-Training-Lösungen.

Game-Based-Training und die kognitive Forschung

Aktuelle Ergebnisse aus der kognitiven Forschung geben Aufschluss, warum Game-Based-Training so effektiv in der Wissensvermittlung ist. Eine wichtige Erkenntnis ist, dass man am nachhaltigsten lernt, wenn der Lernprozess selbst anstrengend ist. Wir würden uns erhoffen, es gäbe einen einfachen Weg um etwas zu lernen, aber leider ist dem nicht so.

Fürs Lernen gilt: es gibt keinen einfachen Weg. Einige Wege sind weniger hart als andere, aber alle sind hart.

Lernen ist anstrengend und zeitaufwändig

Aber warum ist das so? Warum muss Lernen hart und zeitaufwändig sein? Dies ist auf die Anatomie unseres Gehirns zurückzuführen. Jedes Mal, wenn wir etwas Neues erlernen, muss sich das Gehirn anatomisch verändern und es werden neue neuronale Verbindungen geschaffen. Das Gehirn speichert die Erinnerungen und das Wissen in neuronalen Netzwerken. Wenn etwas Neues dazukommt, muss es sich verändern. Dies ist hart und anstrengend und wird leider nicht einfacher, je älter wir werden.

Strategien um Wissen effektiver aufzunehmen

Die kognitive Forschung hat jedoch einige Schlüsselstrategien identifiziert, die uns unterstützen, das Lernen und die Aufnahme von neuem Wissen effektiver zu gestalten.
Das Abrufen des neu erworbenen Wissens ist der Schlüssel, um es nachhaltig zu behalten.

Strategie 1: Neues Wissen abrufen

Drei Arten wie der Wissensabruf geübt werden kann:

  1. Persönliche Reflexion.

Reflektieren Sie das neu erlernte Wissen aus dem Gedächtnis ohne Hilfsmittel.

  1. Testen Sie Ihr Wissen.

Prüfungen messen nicht nur Ihre Lernleistung, sondern sind eine der erfolgreichsten Möglichkeiten das Wissen abzurufen und so nachhaltig zu behalten.

  1. Wiederholtes Abrufen Ihres Wissens.

Die wiederholte persönliche Reflexion und/oder wiederholte Testsituationen machen Ihre Erinnerungen langlebiger.

Strategie 2: Verarbeiten und assoziieren Sie Ihr neues Wissen

Das neue Wissen in einen grösseren Kontext zu stellen und es so zu verarbeiten hilft Ihnen, das neue Wissen zu verstehen und anzuwenden. Verbinden Sie das neu Gelernte mit anderen Assoziationen in Ihrem Gedächtnis.

Drei Arten wie Sie die Verarbeitung des neuen Wissens erfolgreich beschleunigen und verbessern können: 

  1. Verarbeitung in einem Team oder einer Studiengruppe.

Diskussionen über das neu erworbene Wissen mit Menschen in Ihrem Team ermöglicht es Ihnen, alle Aspekte des Themas zu verstehen und durch die Zusammenarbeit wird eine emotionelle Erfahrung generiert, mit der Sie das Wissen in Zukunft verbinden können.

  1. Wenden Sie das Wissen praktisch an, um ein Problem zu lösen.

Versuchen Sie es einfach! Wenden Sie Ihr Wissen an, um ein Problem zu lösen. Keine Angst vor Fehlern, denn Fehler verbessern den Lerneffekt und machen das Lernen noch nachhaltiger.

  1. Vermischen Sie Themen.

Vermischen Sie die Themen die Sie lernen. Je öfters Sie verschiedene Inhalte verknüpfen und versuchen sie anzuwenden, umso erfolgreicher wird das Wissen behalten.

Der Erfolg von Game-Based-Training ist auf die Umsetzung der skizzierten Strategien in das Trainingsdesign zurückzuführen. Die effektivsten Game-Based-Training Methoden beinhalten alle Strategien:

Emotionen als Katalysator, um sich die Inhalte langfristig zu merken

Neben der Verwendung der beschriebenen Lernstrategien erzeugt Game-Based-Training durch das Kreieren einer Spielsituation positive Emotionen. Positive Emotionen sind wichtig, die Inhalte zu verknüpfen und der Lernprozess wird dadurch als weniger anstrengend empfunden. In Team basierten Game-Based-Trainings wird oft beobachtet, wie das Team „Flow“ erlebt und dies nutzt, um den Lerneffekt während der investierten Zeit zu maximieren.

Fazit: Erzeugen Sie maximale Lerneffektivität durch Game-Based-Training

Game-Based-Training erzeugt Erlebnisse und Erinnerungen, die es erlauben neues Wissen nachhaltig zu erlernen. Schlüsselfaktoren zur Nachhaltigkeit sind die positiven Emotionen, welche durch das spielerische Element erzeugt werden und die Einbeziehung der diskutierten Lernstrategien in das Design des Game-Based-Trainings.

Wenn Sie mehr über InTheBox game-based Training erfahren möchte, kontaktieren Sie uns: contact@in-the-box-consulting.ch

 

Christian Dubs, CEO

Christian Dubs, CEO

Christian ist ausgebildeter Chemiker und von Natur aus Tüftler. Seine Stärke liegt darin, strategische Veränderungsprozesse anzustossen und nachhaltig umzusetzen. Aktuell bildet sich Christian im Bereich Advanced Analytics, Big Data und Digital Transformation weiter.

Game-Based-Training

Game-Based-Training wird seit Jahrhunderten für die Wissensvermittlung angewendet. Die frühesten Beispiele für Game-Based-Training wurden für die Ausarbeitung von Szenarien-Planung in der militärischen Strategieausbildung im Mittelalter

Weiterlesen »